Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

Funding Distribution History

LAND Trust Funds TSSA Funds
2020-2021$247,272$234,871
2019-2020$239,622
2018-2019$219,557
2017-2018$199,767
2016-2017$156,436

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.

Melissa Baker - Employee
Term: Year 2
melissa.baker@canyonsdistrict.org
8018266200
James Barron - Parent
Term: Year 1
james.barron@slcgov.com
8016996069
Adam Boyer - Parent
Term: Year 1
adamcboyer@hotmail.com
8016280658
Amy Bryant - Parent
Term: Year 2
amypbryant76@gmail.com
8015186305
Bryn Cook - Parent
Term: Year 2
rcowdell@icloud.com
8019539474
Beki Cowdell - Parent
Term: Year 1
amypbryant76@gmail.com
8015664287
Robyn Davidson - Parent
Term: Year 1
davidsonjrt@yahoo.com
8012313781
Chris Gardner - Parent
Term: Year 2
cpg1939@aol.com
3853501144
Marian Gladbach - Employee
Term: Year 2
marian.gladbach@canyonsdistrict.org
8018266200
Jennifer Jolley - Parent
Term: Year 2
jre0612@hotmail.com
8015200994
Roger Pinnock - Employee
Term: Year 2
roger.pinnock@canyonsdistrict.org
8018266200
Angela Robinson - Parent
Term: Year 2
arobinson0628@gmail.com
8018981484
Jay Rudel - Parent
Term: Year 1
jay.rudel@canyonsdistrict.org
8018266200
Thomas Sorensen - Employee
Term: Year 2
thomas.sorensen@canyonsdistrict.org
8018266200
Troy Tait - Parent
Term: Year 1
ttait@medonecapital.com
8016716552
Sheri Tait - Parent
Term: Year 1
sheri@7taits.com
8016716332

2020-2021 Annual Plans & Reports

Click here to access translatable, accessible LAND Trust Plans & Reports.

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule, Minutes and Agendas

All meetings will be held at Jordan High School

Translate »